It’s Surgery Day!

It’s approximately 4 a.m. and surgery is in four hours. I have to be at the hospital at 6:15 though and we have a 45 minute to an hour drive in front of us. It’s hard to describe the feeling I have right now. It seems weird to me that I’m going to go to sleep and then wake up when it’s all over. Yesterday they talked about the anesthesia at my pre-op appointment. Basically, I will be given an IV. Then sometime after I pass out, a tube will be put into my mouth/throat for sleeping gases. In addition to just anesthesia, they will be given me amnesia medicine. This kind of makes me nervous, but in a way I am glad. I have heard stories about anesthesia not working and the person is awake but cannot move or tell the doctor. This way if I does happen, I won’t remember anything anyways. Kind of creepy though.

Midnight last night marks when I had to stop taking food, water and anything else by mouth.

Got to go. Hopefully it goes well.

2 responses to “It’s Surgery Day!

  1. Lisa, I’ve been following your blog and I am so excited for you! I hope your surgery goes well and your recovery is quick. 🙂

    I just wanted you to know I’m thinking about you over here in Illinois!

  2. You are in my thoughts today! Best of luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

