Nine More Days (and some odd hours)!

I’m nervous, but not as much as I was. In fact, in some strange way, I am looking forward to it. I think it’s natural for humans to feel curious. I just hope I can get though it without any technical glitches and surgery mishaps, and focus on learning how to hear with this piece of technology.

Maybe I should say something, in honor of Abbie, like “9 days until I go Bionic!” πŸ™‚

I am so happy I’m doing it in Texas. I have a huge support system over there and that just makes me look forward to it. This is not to say I don’t have one in New Orleans – it is still growing and is a year and a half old. In fact, I know that support system is routing for me as much as the one in Texas is annnndddd taking care of my two dogs.

Oh, here’s some other news. Today is my and my husband’s first wedding anniversary! He got me the best gift: horseback riding lessons and some beautiful cowboy boots. You have to know the story, to know just how special it is. When I was younger, I LOVED horses. I would read every horse-related book I could get my hands on. So I asked my parents for horseback riding lessons and started going. I loved it. I still even remember my horse’s name: Spud. Well about six weeks into it (or maybe less) the insurance company told me I was not allowed to go back because I was deaf. I was really depressed, but closed that chapter and went on to play soccer. I have been on horses a few times since, but they weren’t lessons or ongoing.

One response to “Nine More Days (and some odd hours)!

  1. *chuckle*

    You are definitely in for the ride of your lifetime πŸ™‚ I just realized how busy the month of June for CI surgeries, I better start writing these down πŸ™‚

    Did you pick an implant yet?

    By the way, happy anniversary πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

