Date Confirmed!

I got an e-mail from my audiologist saying that the surgery is scheduled on June 5. I have to be at the hospital at 6:30 – 7 a.m.  She warned me that about one in ten adults may feel vertigo/tinnitus for one to two weeks after surgery. She also responded to another question I had about if my health insurance will cover mapping. She said that she has never needed to ask for pre-approval for mapping except with Medicaid. I asked her some more questions about when I need to get my meningitis shot and if there was anything else I needed to do before my pre-op appointment. I also asked to go ahead and schedule my mapping appointments.

4 responses to “Date Confirmed!

  1. Hope your not that ‘one’ and wish the best for your surgery. All the best for you!:)

    *blog hopping*

  2. Wooooooooo!!! I want to tell you about the meningitis shot, it really is the pneumonia vaccine. Just so when you go and get it your doctors won’t look at you like you have to heads when you say meningitis

  3. Thanks Abbie! 🙂

  4. I just discovered your blog, and want to say congratulations and good luck! I’m not deaf, but my two children were born profoundly deaf and have implants, one at age 2 1/2 and one at age 10 months. It’s been over 5 years now (wow!) and they are both doing amazing! From what I have heard from adults, you’ll probably not understand anything for the first couple of weeks–our audiologist (progressive hearing loss, implanted as an adult) says everything sounded like R2D2 for a while.

Leave a Reply

