Denied, Denied… Approved!

I was in Atlanta at a conference for work this week, so I didn’t get a chance to post until tonight, however, Tuesday I was approved by my insurance company for two cochlear implant surgeries (one in each ear). It comes as no surprise to me that I got approved for both ears: I believe it’s cheaper for the insurance company. However, I highly doubt I am doing both ears – still want to just stick with implanting my bad ear. I don’t really see much of a reason to implant my good ear. I think my hearing will only improve slightly in that ear – doesn’t seem worth it – and implanting my right ear will really change how I hear.

The earliest available date that my doctor’s office has is June 5 for surgery. I haven’t done anything yet mostly because I’ve been busy this past week. So far, all I know is that I will need to be there one or two days beforehand for the doctor to make sure my overall physical health is good and ready for surgery. As always, as more information becomes available, I will post here 🙂

2 responses to “Denied, Denied… Approved!

  1. That is absolutely wonderful! I can’t forget that date because that was the date that I was told I was officially a candidate! 🙂 I actually wish that I chose my better ear and I am going to get a chance to do just that next year!

    Congratulations again!

  2. Thanks Abbie! I hope I get that date. I’m still waiting to hear a confirmation on the date from my audiologist. Good luck on going bilateral. I look forward to hearing your experiences with that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

