Deaf Thanksgiving

It’s that time of the year again! Thanksgiving is just around the corner. For people who are deaf or hard of hearing, this usually means sitting in a corner watching family members laugh and chatter excitedly. I generally get left out, though unintentionally, of family gatherings. The only thing I show up for is the food and to greet family members. I know it’s special for them, but it’s not so much for me. About 20 minutes into it, I usually want to bolt.

There’s a new tradition that I have started to see more and more of lately involving the holidays:a “Deaf Thanksgiving” and a “Deaf Christmas” with it’s very own signing Santa! I am so relieved that these opportunities are out there, it helps to get rid of the stress of the holidays and deal with the frustrations of not being able to follow along during the family get togethers. I will tell you now that I haven’t actually been a deaf holiday, I’ve just heard about them last year for the first time. By just knowing that’s available already makes me feel a little less stressed and a little more into the holidays.

These deaf holidays never take place on the actual day of. They will take place before or directly after the holiday. So you don’t have to pick family gatherings over the deaf ones or vise versa.

I am very excited this year because at least one is taking place in New Orleans and I plan to go! It’s the weekend before which is great since I’m traveling back to the Texas on my days off of work.

Tell me about the deaf holidays going on in your area!

4 responses to “Deaf Thanksgiving

  1. That’s awesome! I know what you mean about being left out. It’s one of the reasons why I’m not looking forward to the California trip…..

  2. I agree with you. My first major family gathering consisted of 40 some odd people shoved under one roof and I couldn’t make heads or tails of what anyone said. I am sure this will happen again this year. I wouldn’t even know where I would look for deaf holidays around here.

  3. Thanks for your visit over at my blog! I made it through the surgery in one piece…I’m so glad that’s behind me and I can move forward!
    And as to being implanted in an ear with no sound for 22 years (is that what you said?) my first implant was in an ear that had no hearing for over 30 years….and while it’s not perfect, I still see improvements all the time…it definitely works. I hate that your audiologist isn’t more encouraging….bummer! It’s a good thing…and if you qualify, don’t let them discourage you!! ((HUGS))

  4. I am so lucky that my family isn’t into big family gatherings!

    But hey, yeah, we have a Signing Santa party over at the Lied Center sometime in Dec, and plus we have a Deaf Thanksgiving this Saturday, which I can’t make because it’s my mom’s first singing group performance! I keep reminding myself, family first…

    I’m looking forward to the next gathering in Dec…one’s a state one and the other’s the local one. (though it’s during finals week, I AM going to go! )

    eep, I’m excited!

Leave a Reply

