Ringxiety

This article talks about phantom vibrations. Here’s an exert:

“If your hipbone is connected to your BlackBerry or your thighbone is connected to your cell phone, those vibrations you’re feeling in the car, in your pajamas, in the shower, may be coming from your headbone.”

This made me laugh. It reminds me of my former friend. We were best friends for nine years and apparently I “grew” on her. Let me explain. I hear best from my left ear so when we chatted we did the sensible thing: she would always walked on my left side. Well imagine doing this for five years or so with the person you spend a lot of your waking hours with. She developed a habit of walking on not only my left side, but everyone’s left side. She felt wrong on their right side. So this habit became ingrained in her – much like the vibrations of a Blackberry may become ingrained in a BB addict.

2 responses to “Ringxiety

  1. I am one of those people lol.. It was like my sense of balance was off when walking on the left side of someone, especially on a sidewalk. I would actually feel like I am walking on a balance beam and I do not have a balance problem but it only happened then. I’m weird though so 🙂

    You left a comment concerning what my right ear looked like aided. I don’t have a audiogram showing that but on my audiological report that was done for my CI candidacy says that the warble pure tones aided awareness ranged from 30-60dB with no response seen over 3000Hz. My speech discrimination for my right ear was averaged 20%.

    10 more days to go to your evaluation!!

  2. This happens to me /all the time/!

Leave a Reply

