His Silence Mistaken, Deaf Man Attacked

As posted in the Star-Telegram. A cashier attacks a deaf man with a crowbar because the deaf man was silent and the cashier mistook it for rudeness.

This is interesting in that someone who is getting paid would do this to someone else. Oy vey. Anyways, this reminds me of my difficulty at work. I don’t think I’ll get attacked like this, but everyday when I leave work, I THINK I HEAR someone is telling me good-bye from the front desk of the building. But the front desk is so high that I can’t see their faces. I had to ask a co-worker about this, and she confirmed that most every day someone will tell people as they leave “Bye”. I’ve been working there for nine months and I’ve only discovered this in the last month.

This is brings a whole new meaning to “the voices in my head.” Sometimes I’ll hear something that really seems like a part of my imagination. I’ve learned that they either are real voices or ringing. So I can spend a good amount of time looking around trying to figure out where it’s coming from.

2 responses to “His Silence Mistaken, Deaf Man Attacked

  1. That’s awful about that man ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    But I know EXACTLY what you mean about voices in my head! Some people thought I was rude for not responding, but then if I do react to the “voices”, then sometimes they’ll think I’m crazy. Make up your mind! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reminds me about voices in the aparment. When I was little I had one of those box type hearing aids, that had a loop or something, with radio waves. Well, one night, after I went to bed, my parents started hearing these weird voices in the apt. Ghosts? they wondered. Turns out they forgot to turn off the HA, and it was receiving the police and trucker channels. They don’t know if I was hearing them during the day too, but my dad joked that if I started swearing, they now would know why ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Oh man, I can relate to this all too well!! I have been mistaken for being a rude person because I sometimes don’t answer back or umm *ignore them* What I hate is though is when I think someone said something, I turn around to ask them and the answer is usually no. It is irksome.

Leave a Reply

