Sound Memory

I don’t have a large song “vocabulary” so to speak – meaning that I don’t know the lyrics to a lot of songs. The ones I do know, I choose to know. Before the time of iPods and iTunes, I would get a CD where the artist would have the words written in that little booklet and I would listen to the CD… over… and over… and over… and over again. This drove my family up the wall, but it was my way of learning the songs. Repetition, repetition, repetition.

Interestingly enough, anytime I listen to a song on a CD that I did this with I get a nostalgic feeling. I remember the way I feel at that time of my life, the smells, the sights. Everything fills up my senses. For example, I memorized a Ricky Martin CD during my trip to Hawaii: I can still feel my sunburn, feel the sand in the air, hear my brother get irritated with me in the car, and remember sitting with my father on the back porch of the beach house we stayed at. Gloria Estefan was my first CD, and I remember learning it in the living room of my parent’s house. N’Sync was learned in the privacy of my room because none of my friends liked N’Sync: I would’ve been looked upon in a strange manner if I confessed to them that I knew N’Sync. I memorized “One Thousand Miles” during the time period that I had my first full-time job. It was a work-from-home job, and I would play it to motivate me in the mornings. Well that and coffee. šŸ™‚ Each song/CD that I memorize marks a period in my life.

For the songs I don’t make the point of memorizing the lyrics, I will make up “sounds” that sound to me like the lyrics (I can’t detect speech in songs that well, but I can mimic). My husband was impressed with my sophisticated system of mimicking songs.

My father introduced me to music. I don’t remember exactly what happened, but I do remember him playing the Gloria Estefan CD in our living room, and I feel in love instantly. From that moment, I had to learn the songs. That CD became mine with time, and I still have it šŸ™‚ .

I truly enjoy music. I would sing in the shower… loud enough so I could “hear” the vibrations of my voice bouncing off the walls and within me. Unfortunately, this was too loud as my family could hear my singing throughout our house and teased me endlessly about it. My embarrassment eventually curbed me of this habit.

In middle school, I wanted to be like my Uncle John, so I amazingly enough joined the orchestra and started playing the violin. I was HORRIBLE. Later I joined colorguard in high school – dancing to music suited me better.

One response to “Sound Memory

  1. I thought I was the only one who did that! It is very hard, but sometimes I can catch a word here or there from songs. That’s why I memorized songs too! My guilty pleasure is WeeSing. People look at me crazy if I say I like the children’s singers. But I would listen to WeeSing America for a long time until it drove my (hearing) brother up the wall. I certainly can’t carry a tune, but now I know all the verses to many songs šŸ™‚

    I found I enjoyed music even more, I could hear more of the higher pitched sounds, after I got my CI. It works for some people, and not for others, but now I can really hear music. (But I still don’t like flutes šŸ˜› ) šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

